Vijay Hazare Trophy | Dhawan’s century takes Delhi home

Shikhar Dhawan struck 153 off just 118 balls (21×4, 1×6) to star in Delhi’s three-wicket win over Maharashtra in the Vijay Hazare Trophy one-day tournament here on Saturday.

Delhi suffered some anxious moments towards the end of its chase of a challenging target of 329, but Pradeep Sangwan swung seamer Rajvardhan Hangargekar’s second ball of the final over for a six over mid-wicket to take his side home.

The run-out of Shivank Vashisht in the previous over had given Maharashtra some faint hope.

Big partnerships

Dhawan’s first wicket partnership of 136 with Dhruv Shorey (61, 75b, 7×4) had put Delhi firmly on course for its third win in four matches. The left-handed opener then added 101 for the fourth with Kshitiz Sharma (36, 29b, 4×4, 1×6) to take the team closer to the target.

Earlier, Kedar Jadhav (86, 81b, 10×4) and Azim Kazi (91, 73b, 10×4, 2×6) were the main contributors in the Maharasthra innings. Opener Yash Nahar made 45 (64b, 6×4, 1×6).

Meanwhile, Mumbai made it four out of four with a 67-run win over host Rajasthan. Skipper Shreyas Iyer led from the front once again, scoring 116 off 103 balls (11×4, 3×6).

The captain’s second hundred in as many matches helped Mumbai make 317 for seven. In reply, Rajasthan was bowled out for 250 in 42.2 overs. Mahipal Lomror top-scored with 76 (69b, 6×4, 4×6) while Shardul Thakur claimed four for 50 from eight overs.

Pondicherry posts win

In the other match in Pool D, Pondicherry, riding on Sheldon Jackson’s 104 (141b, 12×4) and left-arm spinner Sagar Udeshi’s four for 35, thrashed Himachal Pradesh by 104 runs.

Saturday’s scores

Elite D (Jaipur): Pondicherry 227/9 in 50 overs (Sheldon Jackson 104, Sagar Trivedi 51, Rishi Dhawan 4/44) bt Himachal 123 in 34.5 overs (Sagar Udeshi 4/35).

Mumbai 317/7 in 50 overs (Shreyas Iyer 116) bt Rajasthan 250 in 42.2 overs (Manender Singh 40, Mahipal Lomror 76, Shardul Thakur 4/50).

Maharashtra 328/7 in 50 overs (Yash Nahar 45, Kedar Jadhav 86, Azim Kazi 91) lost to Delhi 330/7 in 49.2 overs (Dhruv Shorey 61, Shikhar Dhawan 153).

Elite E (Kolkata): Saurashtra 388/7 in 50 overs (Vishvaraj Jadeja 50, Prerak Mankad 174, Arpit Vasavada 71, Jaskaran Singh 4/60) bt Chandigarh 326/7 in 50 overs (Arslan Khan 61, Manan Vohra 50, Ankit Kaushik 54, Gaurav Gambhir 40 n.o.).

Services 287/5 in 50 overs (Shivam Tiwari 74, Rajat Paliwal 78 n.o.) bt Haryana 175 in 43.3 overs (Jayant Yadav 59).

Bengal 368/4 in 50 overs (Abhimanyu Easwaran 99, Ritwik Roy Chowdhury 55, Anustup Majumdar 92 n.o., Kaif Ahmed 42, Shahbaz Ahmed 48 n.o.) bt Jammu & Kashmir 286 in 45.3 overs (Shubham Khajuria 44, Parvez Rasool 50, Abid Mushtaq 68, Arnab Nandi 4/46).

Plate (Chennai): Arunachal Pradesh 153 in 50 overs (Akhilesh Sahani 45) lost to Meghalaya 157/2 in 28.5 overs (Rohit Shah 70 n.o.).

Nagaland 257/9 in 50 overs (R. Jonathan 46, Shrikant Mundhe 52, Hem Chetri 82 n.o.) bt Manipur 240/9 in 50 overs (Narsingh Yadav 62, Nitesh Sedai 50, M. Langlonyamba 45).

Mizoram 117 in 38.3 overs (Taruwar Kohli 62, Dikshanshu Negi 6/21) lost to Uttarakhand 118/2 in 10.5 overs (Kamal Singh 40 n.o., Kunal Chandela 58).

Sikkim 245 in 50 overs (Robin Bist 120, Varun Sood 50, Pritam Das 5/34) lost to Assam 249/6 in 47.5 overs (Denish Das 53, Saahil Jain 61 n.o., Kunal Saikia 69).

You have reached your limit for free articles this month.

Subscription Benefits Include

Today’s Paper

Find mobile-friendly version of articles from the day’s newspaper in one easy-to-read list.

Unlimited Access

Enjoy reading as many articles as you wish without any limitations.

Personalised recommendations

A select list of articles that match your interests and tastes.

Faster pages

Move smoothly between articles as our pages load instantly.


A one-stop-shop for seeing the latest updates, and managing your preferences.


We brief you on the latest and most important developments, three times a day.

Support Quality Journalism.

*Our Digital Subscription plans do not currently include the e-paper, crossword and print.

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button